L’chaim

Standard

To life.  Indeed.

It’s been way too long since I’ve checked in here.  I committed to being here, and I haven’t been.  Not without good reason.  Life has gotten in the way, or–more appropriately–living it has.

This post does not come apropos of nothing, but it will be delivered apropos of nothing that will be specifically apparent.  And that has to be ok.

Bottom line is I just had pizza and some beers with one of my oldest and most cherished friends.  And for a host of reasons, good and bad, I’m reminded of the basics.  Love as much and as hard and as often as you can.  Take time for what matters.  Make time for the people you care about.  Be present.  Smile.  Say what you feel, especially the good things.

I haven’t been here, not because I’ve been so busy in my life, but more because I have been so present in it.  I’m not along for the ride.  Maybe I used to be, but not anymore.  I’m all in.  I have a great job.  An amazing family.  Someone who loves me more than I’ll ever deserve.  I have all the creature comforts that matter.  I have a business trip next week that I’m starting a day early to spend time with college friends I met when I was 18.  I’m surrounded by strength and commitment and passionate and dedication and love.

I have and I am in the midst of everything that matters.  I have been here and I have known it and I have loved it.  But today reminds me that one can never be present and knowing and loving enough.

So go, now, and take the extra step.  When you think you’re all in, find a spot and go deeper.  Be there.  It matters.  And so do you.

One thought on “L’chaim

Leave a comment