Duck and Smile.

Standard

So I went back to work full time, last week.  Obviously working 37.5 hours each week during fairly fixed hours has severely cramped my style in a lot of ways.  I need a new routine.  I’m tired when I need energy and wide awake in the middle of the night.  I like the morning classes at the gym that I used to take better than the night classes I’m taking now.  I can’t get into a groove with any of my meals or shopping.  None of it.

I’m juggling and I’m failing.

Or am I?

Hold on a second.  I’m not a juggler.  I don’t want to be a juggler.  And I don’t get paid to be a juggler.  So why am I worried about juggling and judging myself based on how well (or poorly) I’m doing it.

So I think I’ll duck, smile, and keep on doing the best I can.  Including not tripping over any of the balls that fall into my path.

Don’t be so hard on yourself, and start by getting rid of the ridiculous (and ridiculously unattainable) expectations you set for yourself.  Start being realistic, and start now.

Duck.

And smile.

It will go a long way.

Leave a Reply

