X Marks The Spot.  But Of What?

Standard

The other night, I was happily cuddled up in front of a fire watching the season a finale of Downton Abbey when I unwrapped a Dove mint chocolate swirl square candy.  The inside of the wrapper announced, “You are exactly where you are supposed to be.”

And by God, in that moment, you couldn’t have paid me any sum of money to get me to for a single second to believe that I was better off anywhere else.

So I started thinking about X as marking the spot for precisely where I was supposed to be, and if that were the case, it would always be easy to smile and enjoy and accept whatever it was, just because…some higher power or some bigger plan conspired to have us in that spot for whatever reason, so just be glad and be happen to be chosen to be in that place.  Or whatever.

Sometimes it’s so easy to be present and happy and embracing of and cheerleading for life in any given moment.  But when X marks the spot for exactly where you’re supposed to be and it feels like your X is in the high-speed lane of the road to nowhere, well then what?  And how can Saturday night be precisely right and Monday afternoon be so ridiculously wrong?  What changed?

And that’s where I am right now, sitting here and figuring that out.  And right now isn’t ridiculously wrong.  I’m just sitting here waiting for something that I have no control over.  But I’m no less in the “right” spot now that’s I was Saturday night.  There’s different context for and circumstances around every moment.  But we are in the center of the moment, and we can control what we do sitting there in the eye of the hurricane.  Me?  Now?  Well, I am right where I am supposed to be…and I wish it were blissful.  But it isn’t.  So I can only do as much as I can.  So I cracked a can of Honest Fizz Root Beer, drank it down, wrote this blog post, and went from feeling like I was being tossed helplessly in a tornado of a moment to enjoying the calm that I’ve allowed myself to find in the eye of the storm.

And that’s what it’s all about.

That and 50 degrees, sun, and a glimpse of my front lawn today.  About a two inch long bit of brown fringe along the edge of the the driveway.

Happy Spring.

But don’t wear your white pants or shoes just yet.

One thought on “X Marks The Spot.  But Of What?

Leave a Reply

