Head-to-Head With Old Man Winter

Standard

I know. If you don’t like the weather in New England, wait five minutes.

I know. If you don’t like winter in New England, move.

I know.

I love all four seasons, I really do. Well actually I love three and I tolerate the fourth because it allows me to enjoy the others.

We’re getting pummeled with snow right now, a multi-day event that will put two feet of new snow on top of our three+ feet of old snow. It’s cold. Windy. Boring. A lot of work. But it is what it is. I’m over it. Winter isn’t over it. And here we are in a standoff.

Which has given me some time to think about stuff in a different way. And reminded me about choice. Snow removal can be a bitch or it can be exercise. It can be cold or it can be fresh air. And the winter, this at-times intolerable thing that I choose to tolerate, it’s a nice reminder of how sometimes we need to do things we don’t want to do in order to enjoy the things that matter.

Removing two feet of snow is on the road to green grass and blue sky and crocuses…which lead to warm sun, ocean waves and sand…which then lead to vibrant reds and oranges, crisp air, golden skies…I could complain about the snow, or I could embrace the season that’s a doorway to the other seasons, seasons which bring profound joy. I think I’ll embrace it, sit by the fire, be glad that my driveway is clear (for now), and be profoundly grateful, in this very moment.

Leave a Reply

