What Are You Going To Choose?

Standard

It is a crappy day out. It’s cold. Gray. Rainy. Monday. Ugh. Right?

Yeah.

Wait.

No.

Well, yeah…

But…

OK…hmmm…

When the day looks like this:
IMG_1015.JPG

…it would be really easy to allow the weather to creep inside, into your psyche…to hang your head and droop on down…it would be easy to use the weather as a scapegoat, to rationalize gray thoughts, or inactivity, or any other “bad” behavior we exhibit.

And I just almost fell into that trap myself. But do I want to be all sulky and sad and gray inside? No! I want to feel rested and satisfied and happy. So what do I do? I don’t want to run in the cold rain. I don’t have a job so I don’t have disposable income, so I can’t go out and burn calories (and cash) at the mall. But it would be so easy to sink into the couch and be blue…

And here’s the thing. I could do that. But I have a choice. So here’s what I’m going to do:
IMG_1016.JPG

…well that, or something like that.

I was going to go with old reliable, this great workout from the NY Times, one that I find very effective and challenging, especially when repeated 4 or 5 times.

And when I looked online to grab the link to put in this post, I found this, the advanced version, and that’s what I’m going to do, as soon as I finish this post and get changed.

I know that doing something good for myself will make me feel good about myself. I can choose to do that, or I can choose to be a sad sack. I’m the only one who can take care of me…and sitting on the couch and lamenting all that is wrong with my surroundings is a waste of time and energy…time and energy that I could be spending on making me a better version of me.

So I’m going to shut up, put up, and work out. You should too. If you want to feel better, you have to do better. If you want to feel different, you have to do different. But mainly you just need to do. So start. Go. Now.

[UPDATE: Did the advanced workout three times with some modifications. Solid. I feel great, ate some leftover Buffalo Lentilloaf for lunch, and am going to hit a hot shower. And then I’ll give myself permission to relax and to sit, shrouded in goodness v grayness, because that’s what I’ve chosen.]

Leave a Reply

