The Ultimate Smoothie.

Standard

I’m making the claim publicly. That’s how serious this is. Last night, I made The Ultimate Smoothie. Actually, last night I made the best smoothie I’ve ever had. Today I converted it to The Ultimate Smoothie. I thought it needed protein so I added some Greek yogurt. The end.

As is so often the case, I build a smoothie based on a combination of what I want, what I have in the house, and what I think will go well together. I also make decisions based on whether the smoothie is a breakfast smoothie, a meal (lunch or dinner) smoothie, or a snack smoothie. My sister makes fun of me for categorizing my smoothies this way, but there’s definitely a difference. This one is without doubt a meal smoothie. Per MyFitnessPal, it clocks in under 500 calories, 23 grams of protein, and only 4 grams of fat.

The best thing about it, I think, is that even avowed green drink haters will convert to this one. Well, at least my avowed green drink hater will. The taste of the greens is completely masked. The texture is masked by how good your blender is and how much you blend. Otherwise, the only giveaway is the color—a pretty green, pale, speckled with kale.

Here’s what goes into The Ultimate Smoothie:

8oz coconut water
3.5oz light coconut milk
2.1oz 100% pineapple juice
6 oz nonfat plain Greek yogurt
100g baby kale mix
4.9oz frozen banana
1c Dole Wildly Nutritious Tropical Medley

Blend the hell out of it. Then marvel at how good it tastes, and how good it is for you.

Other than that, keep trying. Do. Move. Remember. Positive momentum drives positive momentum and that drives results. You want to change. You make it happen. Listen to yourself, push yourself, be good to yourself. Tell yourself whatever you need to tell yourself to keep yourself going. Find positive affirmation. Just go. Now.

Leave a Reply

