Buffalo Banging Cauliflower

Standard

So yesterday someone told me that lunch was going to be the buffalo tofu bowl from Boloco. It got me wanting it soooo bad. Especially because just that morning I converted my Boloco card to the new Boloco Passport, and had $17 free to spend.

But dinner was already fixed, kind of. Veggie burgers. And a veggie side. So I chose chick peas for the burgers and a buffalo veg for the side–and with it reminded myself that dinner was only kind of fixed and how lucky I was to have a choice regarding the specific execution of it. I had two recipes I wanted to try, one for “Bang Bang Buffalo Cauliflower” and the other for “Buffalo Cauliflower.” Upon closer inspection, the first one lost appeal because it was too much work (dip in egg white and dredge in almond flour) and the second one had too much butter (a whole stick!).

So I made my own Buffalo Banging Caulifower, thusly:

I had a big head of cauliflower, which when all was said and done was just shy of 2.5 pounds. I got it cut up, not too small. Put it on a sprayed baking sheet, drizzled some olive oil on top, sprinkled some salt and pepper on, and lightly tossed it. After about 25 minutes in a 400° oven, it had browned up nicely. (I moved it around once during that time.)

While the cauliflower was roasting, I mixed up my sauce in a big bowl. You need enough to completely cover all of the veg, so for my 2.5 pounds, this worked fine: 1/2 cup of hot buffalo wing sauce (I like it spicy spicy, so use regular buffalo or mild to your preference), 2T sriracha, 1T honey (optional), salt, and pepper.

When the cauliflower was cool enough to handle, I cut the florets smaller, about bite sized, and tossed them in the sauce, making sure to get all of the cauliflower covered. I then put the cauliflower back into the over, though this time at 450°, and let it cook for about another 10 minutes. The result was spicy, heavenly, healthy deliciousness!

And it was a great accompaniment to the garbanzo bean burgers, though I suspect even better with the black bean variety of veggie burger.

I’ll leave you with an unrelated quote (unrelated to cauliflower but completely related to life) of unknown (to the best of my research) origins, words that are a nice reminder, and make me glad that I emailed a company yesterday about a job they don’t have (yet?) and that I put on a suit and went in to talk about it today, even though there’s nothing there:

20140610-122056-44456728.jpg

Get out of your comfort zone and kill it! Go!

Leave a Reply

