Running: Getting Started

Standard

I’ve been promising (threatening) to talk about getting started with running if that’s what you want to do. I can’t say enough about the sport. Despite that, I’m not sure I can say that I love running. I can, however, say I over what running has done for me, I love what it is doing for me, and I look forward to every future running challenge I face, including heading out for the 4-miler I am scheduled for today, despite the fact that even on March 18th, temperatures are still below freezing. (Time to let go of the death grip you’ve got on us, Old Man Winter. And Mother Nature, whatever grudge it is you’ve got? Build a bridge and get over it already!)

I’ve talked a lot about getting started and how the most important thing you need to do if you want to make a change is to just start doing whatever. You can’t worry too much about the details, about what’s right or wrong, about what other people will think, etc. Think a little about what’s right and wrong…be smart…see a doctor first…start small…blah blah blah…obvious things like that, address them. But if you want to start running, start running!

And if you didn’t notice it in my time-lapse self-portrait above, no matter what changes, one thing is a constant. The smile. Because that’s how the sense of accomplishment I get makes me feel.

I followed this C25K program. It works! Read about it, educate yourself, get the app…whatever sounds good to you about what you read, go for it. Get started. There are a lot of great tools and gadgets that can make it easier. But if you don’t have access to them, that’s fine. Read the program and adapt it to what you do have. No timing device? Count to yourself, in one one thousands. It’s close enough. Need distances measured? Drive it in your car and rough it out.

What matters about this is that it’s a gentle progression, easing you in to running, allowing you repeats if you need them…it’s accommodating and flexible. You can find a lot of online support as you start out too.

At some point, I’ll start posting about that and giving more specifics. But for now, if you are like I was a few years ago, you want this. So go for it!

And let me know how you make out!

I’ll talk about next steps later!

UPDATE:I didn’t really want to do it but I had to and so I did. “4 slow miles are the same distance as 4 fast miles,” I tell myself. Coming home and seeing this reinforced it.

Another UPDATE: Knowledge is power. Another great read. Attitude is everything. Keep reading.

Leave a Reply

