It’s All About Simple Math: The First Basic Principle

Standard

There are some basic principles that I’ve applied in areas I have wanted to focus on. It helps me to keep things manageable, digestible. And I have had the most success when I break things down to the most simple pieces that I can. It keeps me from getting overwhelmed, helps me to feel like I am making progress (a baby step beats no step, right?), and is a constant reminder that my goals are attainable.

When you feel the inevitable (temporary) paralysis that hits as you start to frame your approach to achieving whatever goal, remember that at the basis of everything is very very simple math. Take weight management. If you want to lose weight, you need to expend more calories than you ingest. Burn to earn. You won’t lose weight if you exercise a little and eat a lot, no matter what “diet” you’re following. It’s really that simple–at the most basic level. But start at that level and you’ll start assembling the building blocks of a super-springy springboard to sustainable success.

Keep the simple math in mind as you endeavor to make lasting change…don’t overcomplicate things. Life is inherently complicated enough as it is. So why invite more complication in, when really what you want is to simplify and streamline your life to get on a path to a happier and healthier you, however you define it?

That said, even simple math involves a formula…it’s not meant to overwhelm, but more to keep you mindful. How you develop and implement the formula is up to you…remember, you know your goals, constraints, strengths, obstacles, etc. better than anyone. So you can do the best job of following your formula. Bottom line is this: you need to stay aware that there are at least two sides to everything, and that your choices and decisions factor into your equation and ultimately leads you to finding your right answer. And yes, there are days that you will get it wrong, but that is ok–as long as a wrong answer makes you realize something that can help move you to the right one.

I’m sure I’ll talk more about this later, but for now start thinking about the most simple and basic formula at the root your particular objective. Focus on that formula and keeping it in balance. Soon you’ll get the hang of it and before you know it you’ll be branching out.

And you can put away the abacus. It’s simple math.

And on an unrelated note, because I ate them both this weekend:

Mark Bittman’s Nut Burgers absolutely kick ass! I mainly use peanut butter, oats, and the chili powder the recipe calls for. This time I used a spicy Szechuan spice blend. Awesome.

These are the best pancakes I ever had.. They were super-fluffy, and with chocolate chips and peanut butter chips, topped with butter and confectioners sugar, I was cross eyed. Amazing!

Leave a Reply

